TBABJ Announces Griot Drum Finalists

The Tampa Bay Association of Black Journalists (TBABJ) will recognize the region’s best media coverage of people of color during its Griot Drum Awards & Scholarship Banquet on Thursday, Nov. 14, at the Tampa Marriott Westshore, 1001 N. Westshore Blvd.

At the event, TBABJ will present awards to area journalists who excelled in covering people of color in 2018. The banquet begins at 6 p.m. with a reception followed by dinner and program at 7 p.m.

Thousands of dollars in scholarships also will be given to area students seeking degrees in media and communications.

The banquet speaker will be Kim Godwin, executive vice president of CBS News. TBABJ also will honor five outstanding women journalists who have made major contributions in journalism to Tampa Bay.

Tickets for the event are $55; $25 for full-time students and $440 for a table of eight. Tickets can be purchased at www.tbabj.com.

Congrats to all the finalists!

2019 Griot Drum Sponsors

Griot Drum’s title sponsor is Vistra Communications.

Other sponsors are AT&T, ABC Action News , Mutual of Omaha, Nielsen, Tampa Bay Times, Tucker/Hall, 10 News WTSP and WFLA News Channel 8.

2019 Griot Drum Awards Finalists

Leonora LaPeter Anton, Tampa Bay Times
Serena Aubrey, WEDU PBS
Sakina Bowser, 10 News WTSP
Danny Bruno, WEDU PBS
Eric Bungay, 10 News WTSP
Cathy Carter, WUSF Public Media
Rod Carter, WFLA News Channel 8
Douglas Clifford, Tampa Bay Times
Dalia Colon, WEDU PBS
Stephanie Colombini, WUSF Public Media
Laurie Davison, Bay News 9
Eillin Delapaz, WUSF Public Media
Duane C. Fernandez Sr., Florida Courier
Jim Glynn, 10 News WTSP
Marcus Grayson, 10 News WTSP
Jim Hockett, WFLA News Channel 8
Ernest Hooper, Tampa Bay Times
Corey G. Johnson, Tampa Bay Times
Octavio Jones, Tampa Bay Times
Timothy F. Kania, Bay News 9
Susan Taylor Martin, Tampa Bay Times
Alexia McKay, RoyalTee Magazine
Cait McVey, Bay News 9
Emerald Morrow, 10 News WTSP
Eli Murray, Tampa Bay Times
Julio Ochoa, WUSF Public Media
Amanda Salvucci, Bay News 9
Mark Schreiner, WUSF Public Media
Marlene Sokol, Tampa Bay Times
Monique Welch, Tampa Bay Times
Gene Yagle, 10 News WTSP  

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.