Finalists Announced for 2012 TBABJ Griot Drum Awards

The Tampa Bay Association of Black Journalists has named finalists for its Seventh Annual Griot Drum Awards. The awards honor the best media coverage of people of color.

Winners will be selected at an awards and scholarship banquet on Thursday, Nov. 15, at The Nielsen Company’s national headquarters, 501 Brooker Creek Blvd., in Oldsmar.  A reception will be held at 6 p.m. Dinner and program will begin promptly at 7 p.m.

Ernest Hooper of the Tampa Bay Times will serve as the gala’s host. Tampa Bay Times columnist Eric Deggans will moderate a panel discussion that includes local news anchors Erica Riggins, of Bay News 9, Reginald Roundtree, of WTSP 10 News and Josh Thomas, of News Channel 8. The chapter also will award college scholarships to students studying journalism and communications.

Tickets are $30 for TBABJ members, $35 for non-members and $300 for a table of eight. Tickets can be purchased using TBABJ’s secure PayPal feature on its website at


Fred Bellet, Tampa Tribune
Jeff Butera, WFTS-TV/ABC Action News
Jackie Callaway and Matt McGlashen, WFTS-TV/ABC Action News
Lisette Campos, John Fulton, Deiah Riley, Eugene Perry and Randy Wright, WFTS-TV/ABC Action News
Charles W. Cherry II, Florida Courier
Dalia Colon,
Eric Deggans, Tampa Bay Times
Elizabeth Dougherty, Food Nation Radio Network
Florida Courier Staff
Kim Gibson, Florida Courier
Demorris Lee, Florida Courier and Tampa Bay Times
Brendan McLaughlin and John Thomas, WFTS-TV/ABC Action News
Tia Mitchell, Tampa Bay Times
Mitchell Perry, Creative Loafing
Keisha Pickett, and Power Broker Magazine
Deiah Riley, WFTS-TV/ABC Action News
Katie Sanders, Tampa Bay Times
Bill Stevens, Tampa Bay Times
Arielle Stevenson, Creative Loafing Staff
The Tampa Bay Association of Black Journalists extends a hearty congratulations to all of the finalists.

Posted in Top Headline and tagged .