Tampa Bay News Anchors to Speak at Griot Drum Awards

Once again, the Tampa Bay Association of Black Journalists will present the area’s most important journalism awards contest and scholarship ceremony: the Seventh Annual Griot Drum Awards and Scholarship Banquet.

We welcome a different groundbreaking journalist as keynote speaker annually, featuring CNN anchor Don Lemon last year; he joined a list of distinguished past speakers which include ESPN’s Jemele Hill, former CBS Early Show co-anchor Rene Syler, and 60 Minutes correspondent Byron Pitts.

This year, the Griot Drum Awards will be hosted by Ernest Hooper of the Tampa Bay Times, and feature a panel discussion moderated by Eric Deggans of the Tampa Bay Times that includes the following local news anchors: Erica Riggins, Bay News 9; Reginald Roundtree, WTSP 10 News; and Josh Thomas, News Channel 8.

Join us for a gala dinner at 7 p.m. on Thursday, Nov. 15 at Nielsen’s national headquarters, 501 Brooker Creek Blvd., Oldsmar. A reception will be held from 6 p.m. to 7 p.m.

We plan to award about $5,000 in college scholarships to students studying journalism and communications, along with about two dozen awards to area journalists who have excelled in covering people of color. More information about our scholarship program is available at http://tbabj.com/?page_id=835.

If you would like to become a sponsor of this event please contact Eric Deggans, Griot Drum Fundraising Chair at (727) 893-8521 (w), (727) 642-8907 or e-mail at deggans@tampabay.com or visit http://tbabj.com/?page_id=801.

Tickets are now on sale! The cost is $30 for TBABJ members | $35 for non-members | $300 for table of 8. Buy your tickets using our secure PayPal feature at http://tbabj.com.

Questions? Call chapter president Camille C. Spencer at 813-230-4967.

Hope to see you there!

 The Tampa Bay Association of Black Journalists strives to help ensure diversity in area media and accurate, balanced coverage of communities of color while serving as a resource for both established and aspiring communicators. TBABJ was recognized by NABJ in 2010 as Chapter of the Year.

 View Press Release

Posted in Top Headline.